Coronavirus Pandemic Year Review 2020

Coronavirus Pandemic Year Review 2020

REPORT • Jan 2021

On 27 January 2020, we published our first daily coronavirus report. At the time, no one could have foreseen just how much impact the outbreak, which only had 2,886 confirmed cases at the time, would have on the whole world. In this report we look back at the year the world changed irrecoverably.

Introduction

On 27 January 2020, we published our first daily coronavirus report, titled the Wuhan Coronavirus Update, which quickly grew into a global update as the pandemic spread. A year later, these reports continue with fortnightly updates. At the time, no one could have foreseen just how much impact the outbreak, which only had 2,886 confirmed cases at the time, would have on the whole world. Even when European countries went into their first lockdowns, there was talk of the whole pandemic being over by the summer. Now with the mass rollout of vaccines, an end is in sight. However, there are likely to be lingering side effects of the pandemic for decades to come.

In this report we review:

  • How the coronavirus came to light
  • How global travel and hospitality have been affected
  • The side-effects of national lockdown
  • Environmental hope and strain
  • Conspiracy theories and misinformation attached to COVID-19
  • Coronavirus in 2021

Request our report: 2020 the year of the pandemic

By ticking this box you consent to receive Solace Global intelligence subscription, this will include free intelligence analysis, reports and other marketing material about our services. We may contact you occasionally about our services. We may use your data for other marketing purposes, for full information please see privacy policy

Recent Alerts

1353 14 Oct 2021

On 13 October, an individual armed with a bow & arrows attacked & killed 5 people in the Norwegian town of Kongsbe… https://t.co/phXlwFPMm7

1311 08 Oct 2021

Your weekly digest of #Covid_19 updates from our intelligence analysts is now ready to view:… https://t.co/afxFIR4tIS

0856 01 Oct 2021

With TripCheck, you can easily & quickly understand travel requirements instantly. We reduce extensive & confusing… https://t.co/sfBki1AL4t

1342 30 Sep 2021

Your weekly digest of key COVID-19 updates from our intelligence analysts is now ready to view.… https://t.co/3tioUV5iHd

1049 23 Sep 2021

Your weekly digest of key #COVID19 updates from our intelligence analysts is now ready to view.… https://t.co/TonrU7Flea

0809 17 Sep 2021

Your weekly digest of key #COVID19 updates from our #intelligence analysts is now ready to view:… https://t.co/DKutRZsv2G

0753 08 Sep 2021

On 5 September, soldiers under the command of a #Guinea Colonel #Doumbouya launched a #coup in the country’s capita… https://t.co/EaSTq2WhzU

1049 07 Sep 2021

With COVID-19 at the forefront of many company decisions & travel plans, we have incorporated some invaluable techn… https://t.co/BtlaE15emc

0815 03 Sep 2021

Your weekly digest of key #COVID19 updates from our #intelligence analysts is now ready to view:… https://t.co/cdADcY7FFW

1241 02 Sep 2021

On 26th September 2021, #Germany will elect members of the 20th Bundestag, and ultimately elect a new government.… https://t.co/cDvFWoqsui

1336 31 Aug 2021

We've been working hard throughout the #pandemic to innovate & bring new technology into Solace Secure. Stay tuned… https://t.co/T2dKjq1qzw

1202 27 Aug 2021

On 26 August, two explosions detonated near #Kabul Airport, deliberately targeting civilians and security personnel… https://t.co/p5wIyeTMyP