Coronavirus Pandemic Year Review 2020

Coronavirus Pandemic Year Review 2020

REPORT • Jan 2021

On 27 January 2020, we published our first daily coronavirus report. At the time, no one could have foreseen just how much impact the outbreak, which only had 2,886 confirmed cases at the time, would have on the whole world. In this report we look back at the year the world changed irrecoverably.

Introduction

On 27 January 2020, we published our first daily coronavirus report, titled the Wuhan Coronavirus Update, which quickly grew into a global update as the pandemic spread. A year later, these reports continue with fortnightly updates. At the time, no one could have foreseen just how much impact the outbreak, which only had 2,886 confirmed cases at the time, would have on the whole world. Even when European countries went into their first lockdowns, there was talk of the whole pandemic being over by the summer. Now with the mass rollout of vaccines, an end is in sight. However, there are likely to be lingering side effects of the pandemic for decades to come.

In this report we review:

  • How the coronavirus came to light
  • How global travel and hospitality have been affected
  • The side-effects of national lockdown
  • Environmental hope and strain
  • Conspiracy theories and misinformation attached to COVID-19
  • Coronavirus in 2021

Request our report: 2020 the year of the pandemic

By ticking this box you consent to receive Solace Global intelligence subscription, this will include free intelligence analysis, reports and other marketing material about our services. We may contact you occasionally about our services. We may use your data for other marketing purposes, for full information please see privacy policy

Recent Alerts

1052 29 Jul 2021

Our weekly digest of key #COVID19 updates from our intelligence analysts is now ready to view.… https://t.co/0VszjoXJbU

1318 28 Jul 2021

This week on our intelligence mailing list, we review the situation as US & Nato forces prepare to depart Afghanist… https://t.co/0bGnZtpPNL

1435 22 Jul 2021

Your weekly digest of key COVID-19 updates from our intelligence analysts is now ready to view. Ensure you don't m… https://t.co/8aQBpd83zU

1125 20 Jul 2021

South Africa Advisory Report - This 4-page advisory gives context behind the unrest, and for those travelling to th… https://t.co/wyBfx929Uq

1543 16 Jul 2021

Hundreds of people are reportedly unaccounted for following the worst #flooding in decades in north-western Germany… https://t.co/pn03fl8l0b

1311 16 Jul 2021

The #Olympic #Games are set to go ahead next week, a year later than scheduled, and without spectators. For more, p… https://t.co/ZlCq136yRr

1030 16 Jul 2021

Day 25 & Ray is well into the #Scottish leg of the journey for #theworldsworstbooktour, we want to know where the w… https://t.co/xwC2mgk29W

1323 15 Jul 2021

Your weekly digest of key COVID-19 updates from our intelligence analysts is now ready to view here:… https://t.co/DdzkAhTjSh

1357 14 Jul 2021

Initially beginning life as an internet meme, the Milk Tea Alliance is a loose network and coalition of protestors,… https://t.co/PRFqOHDI7b

1323 09 Jul 2021

Day 18 & @RayCarole is in the North East of England… teaming up with @Oysta_uk, track Ray along his mammoth journey… https://t.co/P4a6HsErCX

0802 09 Jul 2021

Your weekly digest of key COVID-19 updates from our intelligence analysts is now ready to view here:… https://t.co/iLoa8d3vyo

1200 08 Jul 2021

#Haiti’s President Jovenel Moïse has been killed at home in Port-au-Prince, his wife was also wounded in the attack… https://t.co/JvYgmbKaQt