Coronavirus Pandemic Year Review 2020

Coronavirus Pandemic Year Review 2020

REPORT • Jan 2021

On 27 January 2020, we published our first daily coronavirus report. At the time, no one could have foreseen just how much impact the outbreak, which only had 2,886 confirmed cases at the time, would have on the whole world. In this report we look back at the year the world changed irrecoverably.

Introduction

On 27 January 2020, we published our first daily coronavirus report, titled the Wuhan Coronavirus Update, which quickly grew into a global update as the pandemic spread. A year later, these reports continue with fortnightly updates. At the time, no one could have foreseen just how much impact the outbreak, which only had 2,886 confirmed cases at the time, would have on the whole world. Even when European countries went into their first lockdowns, there was talk of the whole pandemic being over by the summer. Now with the mass rollout of vaccines, an end is in sight. However, there are likely to be lingering side effects of the pandemic for decades to come.

In this report we review:

  • How the coronavirus came to light
  • How global travel and hospitality have been affected
  • The side-effects of national lockdown
  • Environmental hope and strain
  • Conspiracy theories and misinformation attached to COVID-19
  • Coronavirus in 2021

Request our report: 2020 the year of the pandemic


Recent Alerts

1255 24 Feb 2021

Insecurity has plagued #WestAfrica for years despite stabilising interventions from European countries. West Africa… https://t.co/cvSeSUIiIa

0907 19 Feb 2021

As countries rollout their mass inoculation programs, vaccinations are now occurring almost globally. Thoughts amon… https://t.co/FqLFKpyDwz

1317 10 Feb 2021

On 7 February, President Moise claimed that a plot to assassinate him & stage a coup d’état has been foiled by auth… https://t.co/hDhKY8wuPf

1226 09 Feb 2021

Reviewing your #TravelPolicies for 2021? Our sample checklist provides the fundamentals of a successful policy, aim… https://t.co/2TMBD3rLFX

1139 02 Feb 2021

As the UK becomes an independent state following an agreed #Brexit deal, we take a look at what we now know for cer… https://t.co/hPkijR9aPd

1343 01 Feb 2021

On February 1st a year long state of emergency was declared following a Military Coup d’Etat in #Myanmar. For more… https://t.co/gsMX8MQl8N

1419 27 Jan 2021

On 27 January 2020, we published our first daily coronavirus report. At the time, no one could have foreseen just h… https://t.co/35iz2nI3xG

1125 25 Jan 2021

Returning to business travel in 2021? We look at key considerations when updating #travelpolicies to help you prepa… https://t.co/8HBkWGjzB9

1009 20 Jan 2021

#PresidentElectBiden is set to become the 46th President of the #UnitedStates following the #inauguration ceremony… https://t.co/L5kv58tWAm

1130 18 Jan 2021

Providing our followers with useful content in 2021 is at the forefront of our agenda. Have your say:… https://t.co/nj2V9MPSJA

1141 14 Jan 2021

Check out the 2nd report in our mini-series on democracy & security in #WestAfrica. This report looks at the region… https://t.co/u8lMV0Nv59

1024 12 Jan 2021

RT @jason_carl_fox: @SolaceGlobal Great job done too! 👍🏻