Coronavirus Pandemic Year Review 2020

Coronavirus Pandemic Year Review 2020

REPORT • Jan 2021

On 27 January 2020, we published our first daily coronavirus report. At the time, no one could have foreseen just how much impact the outbreak, which only had 2,886 confirmed cases at the time, would have on the whole world. In this report we look back at the year the world changed irrecoverably.

Introduction

On 27 January 2020, we published our first daily coronavirus report, titled the Wuhan Coronavirus Update, which quickly grew into a global update as the pandemic spread. A year later, these reports continue with fortnightly updates. At the time, no one could have foreseen just how much impact the outbreak, which only had 2,886 confirmed cases at the time, would have on the whole world. Even when European countries went into their first lockdowns, there was talk of the whole pandemic being over by the summer. Now with the mass rollout of vaccines, an end is in sight. However, there are likely to be lingering side effects of the pandemic for decades to come.

In this report we review:

  • How the coronavirus came to light
  • How global travel and hospitality have been affected
  • The side-effects of national lockdown
  • Environmental hope and strain
  • Conspiracy theories and misinformation attached to COVID-19
  • Coronavirus in 2021

Request our report: 2020 the year of the pandemic

By ticking this box you consent to receive Solace Global intelligence subscription, this will include free intelligence analysis, reports and other marketing material about our services. We may contact you occasionally about our services. We may use your data for other marketing purposes, for full information please see privacy policy

Recent Alerts

0956 26 Sep 2022

Solace Global Maritime's guard vessels are on project 24/7. Our offshore marine coordinators are expected to be rea… https://t.co/sYHgJnU5hh

0942 21 Sep 2022

One of Solace Global Maritime's environmental obligations is monitoring any marine wildlife in the vicinity of each… https://t.co/z63DsIlB7w

1439 14 Sep 2022

*WE ARE RECRUITING* Solace Global Risk is recruiting an Intelligence Analyst to join their HQ in Poole, Dorset. F… https://t.co/wvUmM88OsQ

0833 09 Sep 2022

A tribute to Her Majesty for a life of selfless service. We are immeasurably grateful, thank you. https://t.co/gZ9RUdrgkS

1121 08 Sep 2022

#SolaceCyber help #businessleaders understand their cyber threats. A #CyberSecurity Risk Assessment identifies the… https://t.co/sHICVKOlqo

1306 07 Sep 2022

*WE ARE RECRUITING* Solace Global Risk is recruiting for a Product Developer. The successful candidate work closel… https://t.co/M1kvGEvi1Z

1100 01 Sep 2022

The industry makes #cybersecurity very complicated. It’s not. Visibility of all your cyber security risks via a sin… https://t.co/gaWZnI41jv

1125 08 Aug 2022

The quick reaction time of our team on board meant that a positive outcome was achieved, and the RNLI thanked SGM f… https://t.co/cgfwbPAWRd

1125 08 Aug 2022

Being a larger vessel, Reaper had a better line of sight, spotted the casualty's position and immediately relayed i… https://t.co/zGXlhFiNyJ

1125 08 Aug 2022

Last week, a SGM guard vessel assisted in the rescue of a paddleboarder who got into trouble off Reiss, in Scotland… https://t.co/TqEqbSiyhm

0905 02 Aug 2022

We’re accredited by LRQA for information security compliance, so you can be assured that both your travellers & you… https://t.co/eGKWonCp7B

1024 01 Aug 2022

With our first month in Scotland complete, and with recruitment for the next phase ongoing, we continue to look for… https://t.co/JTK1dzx9gn