Coronavirus Pandemic Year Review 2020

Coronavirus Pandemic Year Review 2020

REPORT • Jan 2021

On 27 January 2020, we published our first daily coronavirus report. At the time, no one could have foreseen just how much impact the outbreak, which only had 2,886 confirmed cases at the time, would have on the whole world. In this report we look back at the year the world changed irrecoverably.

Introduction

On 27 January 2020, we published our first daily coronavirus report, titled the Wuhan Coronavirus Update, which quickly grew into a global update as the pandemic spread. A year later, these reports continue with fortnightly updates. At the time, no one could have foreseen just how much impact the outbreak, which only had 2,886 confirmed cases at the time, would have on the whole world. Even when European countries went into their first lockdowns, there was talk of the whole pandemic being over by the summer. Now with the mass rollout of vaccines, an end is in sight. However, there are likely to be lingering side effects of the pandemic for decades to come.

In this report we review:

  • How the coronavirus came to light
  • How global travel and hospitality have been affected
  • The side-effects of national lockdown
  • Environmental hope and strain
  • Conspiracy theories and misinformation attached to COVID-19
  • Coronavirus in 2021

Request our report: 2020 the year of the pandemic

By ticking this box you consent to receive Solace Global intelligence subscription, this will include free intelligence analysis, reports and other marketing material about our services. We may contact you occasionally about our services. We may use your data for other marketing purposes, for full information please see privacy policy

Recent Alerts

1100 15 Apr 2021

Our latest COVID-19 report is now available. The new weekly report replaces our fortnightly advisories and has a sp… https://t.co/z0q1FK68Rz

1209 08 Apr 2021

With #COVID19 #vaccines being rolled out globally at a rapidly increasing rate, we will be replacing our fortnightl… https://t.co/89KsUQXrhz

1559 01 Apr 2021

Despite the global vaccination campaign, many countries are still suffering high daily infection rates and remain u… https://t.co/CbSvg6O0WF

1414 30 Mar 2021

On 28 March, Palm Sunday, an explosive device was detonated outside the Sacred Heart of Jesus Cathedral Makassar… https://t.co/cx4m2QFQwf

1428 25 Mar 2021

*WE ARE RECRUITING* Solace Global Risk is recruiting for experienced female security operatives based in the Londo… https://t.co/wMmCg74EoP

1353 24 Mar 2021

For those who do not intend to be there, being caught up in a #protest, regardless of the cause, can be frightening… https://t.co/D0zhSmSbyY

1135 19 Mar 2021

On 11 March 2020, the @WorldHealthOrg2 declared a global pandemic following the emergence of #COVID19 First appear… https://t.co/MreXumdUid

1511 18 Mar 2021

Ever felt frustrated with companies unwilling to work to your #travelriskmanagement needs? Providing clients with… https://t.co/Pog9vSRCpZ

1334 08 Mar 2021

Also, check out our female traveller safety advice video here: https://t.co/ttHFPmRKxu

1334 08 Mar 2021

Today is #InternationalWomensDay. At Solace we continue to empower female business travellers across the globe, pro… https://t.co/zqx4iQPRhs

0918 05 Mar 2021

Globally, the seven-day average of the number of daily new cases and deaths related to COVID-19 has fallen since Ja… https://t.co/eWX9YgTwZ2

1129 04 Mar 2021

Early on 4 March, the #Houthi rebels in #Yemen announced that they had targeted an #Aramco facility in the vicinity… https://t.co/71w1KSPQxe